Inspirational poem – My Journey to Recovery

In the beginning, I wondered if I would ever make it through.
There were periods of anger, sadness, pain, and grief; times when I wondered,
“Why me?”

But one day, there was a glimpse of light, and then another.
The clouds began to break apart, and I started to see beyond them.
The times when I felt happy and safe began to outnumber the times when I felt sad and frightened.
New friendships were formed; feelings of trust and resolution began to replace past feelings of hopelessness and self-doubt.
I seemed to emerge from the darkness into the light with a sense of empowerment.

I now realize that there are things about my past that I cannot change, but I can stop them from controlling my life and my happiness.
I know that this part of my life will never go away entirely, but it has begun to take a less prominent place in my existence.
I have begun to allow other thoughts to enter my mind, and I have a better understanding of myself – my strengths and weaknesses.
I’m not afraid to set limits.
I’ve begun to enjoy life again and to think about the future.
I can now look back on this time for what it was – a period of growth, self-discovery and healing.

-Anna Marie Edwards

A MINHA VIAGEM À RECUPERAÇÃO”

No começo
eu duvidava que fosse possível
resistir até ao fim.
Houve tempos de ira,
dor, tristeza e sofrimento;
tempos em que eu me perguntei:
Porquê eu?

Mas um dia
houve um clarão de luz
e em seguida outro.
As nuvens começaram a abrir-se
e pude ver além delas.

Os momentos de alegria,
de me sentir segura,
foram-se somando mais
que os de melancolia.
Foram tecidas novas amizades;
a desolação, a falta de confiança no meu valor,
foram-se convertendo
em firmeza, em resolução.
Era como passar das trevas
para a luz, com uma nova sensação
de poder.

Agora compreendo que no meu passado há coisas
que não posso alterar;
o que posso é impedir que mandem
na minha vida e na minha felicidade.
Sei que esta parte da minha vida
jamais acabará totalmente,mas o lugar que ocupa na minha existência
é menos proeminente.
Comecei a permitir que outras ideias
povoem a minha mente.
Tenho um melhor conhecimento de mim mesma,
das minhas fragilidades e dos meus pontos fortes.
Já não temo impor limites.
Começo a desfrutar outra vez da vida
e a pensar no futuro.
Agora posso ver esse tempo todo
como ele foi:
um tempo de crescimento,
de descoberta de mim mesma,
de cura.

Leave a Reply

