Virtual Time Freeze – how to get control of a VM’s virtual clock.

I often install 180-day eval editions of software. Every 180 days I flatten my VMs and reinstall my VM guest software. But my tests are usually only two or three days long. How can I configure the VM so that when I fully reset it (i.e., revert to snapshot) that it doesn’t realize how many “days” have passed? I want it to think that it’s just been installed, like Day 1. Is that possible? Answer…

For more information on VMware time synchronization, the document “Time Keeping in VMware Virtual Machines” http://www.vmware.com/pdf/vmware_timekeeping.pdf is a very good read.

Leave a Reply

